Blues News

The Blues Foundation – 40th Blues Music Awards

The 40th Blues Music Awards, It’s a wrap on this one of a kind gathering!

For the 40th year, the Blues Music Awards presented a one-of-a-kind gathering of performers and rising stars. They are artists that reflect the breadth and variety of talent found in today’s blues music scene. Recognized as the top accolade for blues musicians, the BMAs annually honor the past year’s exceptional achievements in performances, recordings, and songwriting, along with serving to sustain the blues’ rich cultural traditions.

The event took place on May 9, 2019

The event took place on May 9, 2019 and brought together blues performers, industry representatives, and fans from all over the world. It was a celebration of the best in Blues recordings and performances from the previous year. The BMAs are generally recognized as the highest honor given to blues musicians and picked by Blues Foundation members. Here is the list of winners which includes some KTBA Cruise alumni.  Congrats to all the winners!

Acoustic Album:                                                                                           
Journeys to the Heart of the Blues – Joe Louis Walker, Bruce Katz,
& Giles Robson                                                                                                                 
Acoustic Artist:
Rory Block
Album of the Year:
America’s Child – Shemekia Copeland
B.B. King Entertainer:
Instrumentalist – Horn: Michael Ledbetter
Band of the Year:
Welch-Ledbetter Connection
Best Emerging Artist Album
Free – Amanda Fish
Blues Rock Album
The Big Bad Blues – Billy F Gibbons
Blues Rock Artist
Eric Gales
Contemporary Blues Album
America’s Child – Shemekia Copeland
Contemporary Blues Female Artist
Danielle Nicole
Contemporary Blues Male Artist
Kenny Neal
Instrumentalist – Bass
Danielle Nicole
Instrumentalist – Drums
Cedric Burnside
Instrumentalist – Guitar
Monster Mike Welch
Instrumentalist – Harmonica
Dennis Gruenling
Instrumentalist – Horn
Vanessa Collier
Pinetop Perkins Piano Player
Marcia Ball
Instrumentalist – Vocals
Michael Ledbetter
Song of the Year
“No Mercy In This Land”
Written By Ben Harper 
Soul Blues Album
I’m Still Around – Johnny Rawls
Soul Blues Female Artist
Annika Chambers
Soul Blues Male Artist
Sugaray Rayford
Traditional Blues Album
The Blues is Alive and Well – Buddy Guy
Koko Taylor Award
(Traditional Blues Female Artist)
Ruthie Foster
Traditional Blues Male Artist
Nick Moss

Help us with our mission of Keeping the Blues Alive in schools!

To learn more or donate to Keeping The Blues Alive, visit our website at

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email