Blues News

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss: Tiny Desk

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss: Tiny Desk

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss! A remarkable sight to see the reunion of Robert Plant and Alison Krauss in Nashville gathering around the microphones. Furthermore, it’s been 14 years since their surprising and remarkable album “Raising Sand” and now they’re back at Sound Emporium. The studio where they are recording some of that first record and the entirety of their new album “Raise The Roof”.

In the control room are the all-star cast of musicians. With Jay Bellerose on drums. Along with JD McPherson on guitar, Dennis Crouch on upright bass, Stuart Duncan on guitars and ukulele. And Viktor Krauss on electric bass and guitar. All of these folks minus JD McPherson plays on the original recordings of the songs you’ll hear in this Tiny Desk concert.

They kick it off with the rockabilly sounds of “Can’t Let Go,” a song originally recorded by Lucinda Williams and written by Randy Weeks. For their second number, Robert Plant recalls a song he first heard as a 15-year-old listening to some great R&B by Bobby Moore & the Rhythm Aces. He and Alison Krauss put their hearts and harmonies into a cover of that song, “Searching For My Love.” Alison takes the lead on the final tune “Trouble With My Lover,” written by Allen Toussaint and recorded in the ’60s by the “Lost Queen of New Orleans Soul,” Betty Harris. These interpretations are delicate, gripping and so damn special.

Keeping the Blues Alive

Help us with our mission of Keeping the Blues Alive in schools!

To learn more or donate to Keeping The Blues Alive, visit our website at


“Can’t Let Go”
“Searching For My Love”
“Trouble With My Lover”

Robert Plant: vocals
Alison Krauss: vocals
Jay Bellerose: percussion
JD McPherson: guitar, backing vocals
Dennis Crouch: upright bass
Stuart Duncan: acoustic guitar, electric 12-string guitar, ukulele, backing vocals
Viktor Krauss: electric bass, electric guitar

CREDITS: NPR Tiny Concert!

  • Producer: Bob Boilen
  • Video Producer: Maia Stern
  • Audio Mastering: Josh Rogosin
  • Tiny Production Team: Bobby Carter, Kara Frame, Joshua Bryant, Sofie Hernandez-Simeonidis
  • Executive Producer: Keith Jenkins
  • Senior VP, Programming: Anya Grundmann

Share this post